Jogless stripes in the round

The ombré blanket hasn’t materialised.  Why I hear you ask? Well the pram arrived and it wasn’t the colour I was expecting and that kind of threw me and now I don’t know what colour to use.  Leave me to think on that one for a while please.  I probably just need some new inspiration on the colour and then I’ll get my ombré mojo back.

Instead, I’m planning something smaller… much smaller. No idea where the inspiration came for this one but I want to make a hat for Baby Cosmo.  I’ve got left over Baby Cashmerino from two Hermione Hearts Ron hats I previously made that I’ll use so this is a destash project as well as the first piece of knitting for my own little baby boy.  I haven’t used left overs for so long I’m calling this a little victory.

So the pattern? No pattern! This one is coming from my head. Flying by the seat of my pants as they say.  They do say that right?

In my quest to keep discovering new skills I’ve been inspired by a Pinterest Pin on jogless stripes knit in the round so this is going to be a stripy hat knit in the round.

Following the pinterest link, I find myself back at the TECHknitting  blog. A three part series none the less with Differnt methods all clearly explained with pictures.

I settled to try helical stripe. This means a continuous candy stripe of each colour knit continously from two balls of wool (or more if you’re feeling adventurous) with no cutting or joins. That means no weaving in the ends!!!

And this is what it looks like…

img_20160821_141453.jpg

Leave a Reply

