A week of alternative crafts

I have been neglecting my knitting of late.  Spring is in the air, my tiny crocus field is in full bloom, opening their little petals when the sun shines.  The jungle has taken priority and the first seeds are now sown, the potatoes are chitting and the compost heaps have had their first turn of the season.  I’m feeling quite productive on the jungle front but less so on the knitting front this week… in fact, I haven’t actually touched a knitting needle.

In a few spare minutes, I have been trying my hand at crochet again.  Have I told you how bad I am at crochet?  I have been thinking about matching blankets for our bedrooms following a particularly chilly night where the blanket from the liveing room migrated to the bed.  I have settled on an Attic24 pattern for the first so I gave the pattern a try.  Getting the foundation chain sorted has not been easy.  It always seems too tight or too loose.  Some of the problem could be the horrible acrylic yarn that has been donated over the years.  Next stop the local yarn shop for some Stylecraft Special DK as recommended by Lucy at Attic24.

P1020089

In other news, I have also tried my hand at sewing, and look what I made!  Proud as punch.  More on this later – our local sewing shop deserves it’s own shout out.

P1020088 (800x600) P1020087 (800x600)

Leave a Reply

