WIP …. erm more like FO!

I had planned on this being my first work in progress post however in the lull in festivities between Christmas and New Year and the daily walks on the fields aorund our village, I’ve had itchy fingers.  I got the hang of the italian tubular cast on and cast on the 132 stiches for a Hermione Hearts Ron hat and ta-dah, one finished Hermione Hearts Ron hat.  (Does it still as a WIP because it needs blocking? I’m still working out how to block a hat).

P1010857 (800x600)

I had to substitute the yarn because The Fibre Company Road to China Light isn’t readily available in my neck of the woods.  I settled on a Debbie Bliss yarn called Baby Cashmerino in clotted cream so the hat would go well with my nice new coat that Santa brought.  My gauge swatch (yes, I knit a gauge swatch) was the correct height but too narrow … weird.  With the help of some Ravelers I settled to use bigger needles and get on with it.

The hat has knit up beautifully.  I would make two improvements if I were to remake it, casting on with smaller needles to keep the cast-on edge neat, and adding another four rounds of ribbing because my earlobes don’t quite make it under the hat and I’m not one for getting cold ears 🙂

 P1010871 - Copy (600x800)What do you think?

One thought on “WIP …. erm more like FO!

Leave a Reply

