Confessions of a knotting knitter

I knot my knitting!  There, I said it.

I know that there’ll be some of you reading this with horror right now but please forgive me, I didn’t know any better.  I promise I will try to get out of this habit.  For those of you reading this thinking, I always knot my knitting, I promise I will still knot some of my knitting (it would be slightly boring to comply with convention all the time).  I can see from a quick web search that I’m not alone in my knotting habit.

I’ve finished knitting up the Christmas Table Stockings, two of which have been knotted and stiched together.  I have resolved to weave in the ends of the wool tails on the remaining stockings so I guess that means I need to learn how to do it!

I’ve been busy pinning knitting techniques onto my new Pinterest Knitting Techniques board and one of those techniques is a really helpful tutorial ‘Weaving in Your Ends’ from PurlBee.com.  A quick look on the Ravelry forums and I find a wealth of posts.  Gladtobemom explains how she weaves in ends in this forum.  These among others have been really useful and ta-dah … six stockings with weaved in ends.

P1010830 (640x480)

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a knotting knitter

  1. I see nothing wrong with knotting my work. I wait until I have finished the article, then go back to check tension and do an do a square knot, loosely and gently. I match the yarn tension with the knot tension before tying the ends. Then I weave the long ends into the work. I use this with socks, and have never felt the knot under my toes. Spit splicing is fine, but messy, and, to me, annoying. I guess I am a knaughty knitter, eh?

    Like

Leave a Reply

