Elijah … an obsession for babies

Elijah for G

This has to be my favourite patterns for tiny new babies.  The pattern for Elijah by Ysolda Teague has been in my Ravelry library for a few of years now and boy is it well used.  I vowed that every new baby I know would get a hand made present and that has well and truely developed into an Elijah obsession.  There has been such a big stork migration across my part of the UK recently; I can’t remember the last time that I didn’t have an Elijah on the needles.

I make each and every Elijah unique, usually by using different yarns because adding clothes or accessories somehow seems to take away some of his charms.   I have made some minor adjustments to this pattern and have started to drop some short rows into the back of Elijahs trunk to create a curve without the need for a pipe cleaner that some knitters have.  The pictures are of some of the earliest so don’t have a picture of one with a curved trunk but I think it really adds to the pattern.

Elijah for H

The pattern is knit in the round and the first time I made him, it  was only my second attempt at in the round knitting and introduced me to some knew techniques when I was quite green in the knitting experience stakes like magic loop cast on and grafting that I’m sure I’ll post about later.

For softies that will hopefully be well loved, I usually use an nylon acrylic mix yarn.  The greeny Elijah below was made from Rowan Amy Butler Belle Organic DK (cotton wool mix) which didn’t give as defined a shape as the nylon/acrylic.  Flat colours look great on Elijah but as you can see I have experimented with yarns like Sidar  Snuggly Crofter which is a Fair Isle effect dk.  I’ve got Sidar Snuggly Peekaboo dk on the go at the moment which gives a speckley result.  I can vouch for the hardiness of these yarns – an Elijah made out of Crofter can stand up to being slept on every night for nearly three years.   He’s a little flatter than before but still in one piece.  (I really want to let out a little squeal every time I see flat Elijah because I know how well loved he is).  The first thing babies seem to do with Elijahs is suck his trunk and they seem to survive that too.

Elijahs

4 thoughts on “Elijah … an obsession for babies

Leave a Reply

